Feline, Anyone?

January of this year (2020), I had finally decided to keep a friend – a feline. It was my first time adopting one and considering the idea of it, I was a little worried on how to keep it alive and healthy under my care.

So, I told a good friend of mine, who ran a shelter of abandoned felines, that I was interested to adopt one.

Fourth of January, when it all started. I headed to her shelter and chose one from her adorable, surprisingly calm and curious felines.

I came across this orange-striped, curious, little furry soul, as she tried to take out her paw and reached out to me when I passed by her cage.

Ti Ger

I blurted out that I like her and my friend told me that the kitten had to be the one to choose instead, before I could take her.

Thought that was a bit weird, but I got excited nevertheless. So she took her out of the cage, and allowed me to carry and cuddle the small one.

She behaved well, sniffed me for about a minute, and thought that might be to know if I had all the good intentions for her. She approved of me, surely.

Finally, I was allowed to keep her. We placed her in the carrier, and went straight to her new fur-ever home.

Cuddle weather

The first few weeks was the adjustment stage for both of us. She would not use her litter box I prepared for her. And one day, I came home from work, and she welcomed me with all the mess she made and left a poo on my bed.

Seriously, Ti Ger?

But, we moved on and adjusted somehow. I was so amazed when I first saw her used her litter box. Success!

Play dead!

She was so sweet especially when hungry and sleepy, but also scary when hyperactive. I had accustomed myself to bites and scratches. But it was all fun and fulfilling that she was still alive and yes, very healthy. 😝

Fast forward, on mid-April, she started staying closer to me, would budge her head to me more often, more affectionate, noisier and that weird lift of her bottom every time I pet her.

Play and bite

I realized she was on her first heat cycle and this lasted for about a week. I was supposed to spay her before her cycle but because of the pandemic, clinics were closed. And no transportations were available.

Days, weeks, and early May came, she started again another round of heat cycle. It was times two of her behavior from the previous cycle. And the noise folded way more, plus there were male cats gathered around the house which were as noisy. Good Lord!

The visitor

I had to place her outside so she would stop being noisy. But I made a mistake. Later, regretted doing it.

And yes, she got pregnant.

Stretching that achy back eh? 😘
Sleeping preggy
Labor phase

In the video, it was her on labor. I became a midwife wannabe at that instant. Never worry, she did not deliver the kittens like that, and I did not touch her while she was giving birth – for her and my safety.

She bore four beautiful kittens last July 6. Got worried for her, for she was still young. And I was so glad I was there and witnessed her gave birth to Louis, Vuitton, Chrome and Android.

Hello kitties 😘.

I know, weird names. My boyfriend and I decided those and finalized them before we could come up with another much bizarre names.

And here they are now! 😍 😍 They are 15 days old as of this writing.

And yes, I have to spay her real soon after she stops breastfeeding or else I will be building an empire of cats. πŸ˜‚

I am just thrilled and so pleased to have them with me. A pure stress reliever.

😘

Leave your Reply :-)